Creative Writing - About Us


Watch us on YouTube!


Rachel Kadish writes about us in The Forward!

The Shaindy Rudoff Graduate Program in Creative Writing is a magnet for English-speaking Israelis, as well as Jews and non-Jews from around the world. The two-year Program, housed in the Department of English at Bar-Ilan University, offers an MA in English with specializations in Literary Fiction, Poetry or Creative Nonfiction.

Located on the outskirts of Tel Aviv and only an hour's bus ride from Jerusalem, Bar-Ilan University enjoys a diverse student body.

Students in the Program range in age from 21-71 and come from all over the world. Though the Program explores the long tradition between Judaism and writing, there are no agendas, only the pursuit of good writing. Our students and visiting writers often experience their time in the Program as a life-changing period.

The Program organizes annual conferences and sponsors informal gatherings with writers at the Stern House in Jerusalem and other venues. The next international conference will be held May 11-13, 2014.


Permanent Faculty:  Marcela Sulak, Evan Fallenberg, Linda Zisquit, William Kolbrener, Ilana Blumberg, and Michael Kramer.

Visiting Faculty for 2013-14: Rachel Kadish and Assaf Gavron.

Past visiting instructors have included Jane Bernstein, Joseph Skibell, Melvin Jules Bukiet, Atar Hadari,  Joan Leegant, Bret Lott, Jonathan Wilson, Steve Stern, Mark Mirsky, Risa Miller, Tony Eprile, Abby Frucht and Jennie Feldman.

Visiting writers have included Max Apple, Eva Hoffman, Gerald Stern, Aharon Appelfeld, Etgar Keret, Rebecca Goldstein, Peter Cole, Adina Hoffman, Dara Horn, Nathan Englander, Ethelbert Miller, Marita Golden, David Bezmozgis, Joy Katz, Phil Schultz, Todd Hasak-Lowy, Meir Shalev, Rodger Kamenetz, Michael Collier, Sarah Van Arsdale, and Peter Bricklebank. among others.

The Program is named in loving memory of Shaindy Rudoff (1966-2006) whose vision and dedication made the Program possible.

We hope you will consider joining this extraordinary writing community.

For further details, browse the rest of this site, visit our Facebook page, and 
then email our Coordinator, Nadia Jacobson, at



The Program acknowledges with respect the contribution of our founders Shaindy Rudoff, z"l, Michael P. Kramer, Sharon Friedman, Allen Hoffman, Linda Zisquit, and our benefactors Sheldon, z"l, and Hedda Rudoff.


מעוניין ללמוד