Creative Writing - About Us


Watch us on YouTube 



In the Shaindy Rudoff Program, our students come from all over the world. The specialization explores the long tradition between Judaism and writing, yet our students range in ethnicity, religion, age, and life experience. In our classrooms, there are no agendas, only the pursuit of good writing and the building of a writing community. Our students and visiting writers often experience their time studying with us as a life-changing period.

We hold a biennial conference that is free and open to the public, featuring contemporary writers from around the world, and we sponsor programs and workshops for our students and alumni with international writers in Jerusalem and Tel-Aviv.

To get the latest on our upcoming events, please visit our Facebook page

Permanent Faculty:  Marcela Sulak, Evan Fallenberg, William Kolbrener, Ilana Blumberg, Michael P. Kramer 

Visiting instructors have included Yael Hacohen, Jane Medved, Ayelet Tsabari, Dalia Rosenfeld, Lazarre Simckes, Bret Lott, Mattan Hermoni,  and Assaf Gavron.

Visiting writers have included, most recently, Alicia Ostriker, Erika Meitner, Ilana Kurshan, Rachel Kadish, Sana Krasikov, Matti Friedman, Yossi Klein Halevi, Rana Abu Fraiha, Alicia Jo Rabins and Joseph Skibell, among many others.

The specialization is named in loving memory of Shaindy Rudoff (1966-2006). The program acknowledges with respect the contribution of our founders Shaindy Rudoff, z"l, Michael P. Kramer, Sharon Friedman, Allen Hoffman, Linda Zisquit, and our benefactors Sheldon, z"l, and Hedda Rudoff.

We hope you will consider joining this extraordinary writing community.